Breakfast @ Tiffany's

So, I've joined the dark side & started my own blog! Let me know what you think… WELCOME TO THE WORLD ACCORDING TO THIS GIRL…

G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra REVIEW August 14, 2009

Cartoon

Ok soooo… I don’t remember the last time I went into a theater trying to psych myself up, but when I went to see G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra, I went in chanting, “This is gonna be good!  This is going to be good!  GOOOO JOE!”  Mostly just trying to convince myself.

 

The movie is based off of one of the most loved comic books and cartoon series ever from Marvel and Hasbro.  Which means $$ca-ching$$ huge fanbase to start with!  This movie was everything I expected, sorry to say… Joes fighting the baddies and the Joes winning, but not before Cobra Commander (played fantastically by Joseph Gordon-Levitt) slips away at the last second.  And come on guys did I predict the love story between the pretty people; Sienna Miller as the Baroness and Channing Tatum as Duke!?!  Who knew the story lines from my G.I. Joe action figure battles as a kid would be big screen gold!  I’ll be expecting a check in the mail Mr. Sommers. 

 

 StephenSommersWe’ve got Stephen Sommers directing, who also directed The Mummy, and you can definitely see the influence of that film, not only with cameos from Brendan Fraser and Arnold Vosloo, but with the desert scene special effects!  And I have to say Sommers took the fight scenes in this movie to a whole new level! 

 

 

snake-eyes-storm-shadowStormShadowySnakeEyesy
 

The fight between the young boys playing Snake Eyes and Storm Shadow was fantastic!  Maybe even the highlight of the movie!  The chase scene in Paris in the accelerator suits!  Epic!  But, here is an example of where I think the movie fails…  The cartoon had humor about what was going on and I don’t think the movie ever found the right balance of; Hey these guys are real American heroes trying to save the world with the humorous fact that this stuff COULD NEVER HAPPEN because MOST of the things they do are pretty ridiculous.  I mean they were tying to save Paris and during the chase probably ended up killing just as many people with car crashes and train accidents as if they had just let the bad guys destroy the Eiffel Tower!  And the joke they choose is… “I told you to read the manual.” ???  Come on!  What a let down…

 

 

I will admit the casting wasn’t bad.  I mean I’d definitely say it wasn’t the acting that took anything away from this movie for me…  So mission accomplished there Team Joe!  Because it was the plot that was bad!!!  Let’s get real the cartoon didn’t really give a whole lot of back story for these characters, so in the movie to create DRAMA they were constantly trying to pack in back story, and it took away from a movie that was supposed to be just a fun action flick!

 

GI Joe Cast

 

For a summer movie that requires little to no thought, umm it wasn’t horrible.  And YOU KNOW since they hit the jackpot with all that casholla there is going to be a sequel…  Mr. Sommers get in touch, I think I can still remember a few plotlines from my G.I. Joe play dates!!!

 

One Response to “G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra REVIEW”

  1. Helen Cryan Says:

    I have to say I really loved the movie and its twists and turns at every moment in the movie. I think the biggest shock to me was, finding out that Ana’s brother Rex was the doctor. And I love how he used the nanomites on James McCullen and made him Destro. And then Rex becomes Cobra Commander. I can’t wait for the sequel if there is any. I hope there is at least 1 or 2 more and that they bring in Tomax and Xamot into 1 of the movies.


Leave a Reply

