Breakfast @ Tiffany's

So, I've joined the dark side & started my own blog! Let me know what you think… WELCOME TO THE WORLD ACCORDING TO THIS GIRL…

NYE in Times Square 2010!!! January 2, 2010

For the first time ever the Times Square Alliance broadcast a 6 hour LIVE webcast to let everyone around the world get in on the NYE FUN!  So, for the first time in my 5 years of living in New York City I got to be in Times Square for the Ball Drop on New Year’s Eve!  Which I have to say was pretty surreal!  Not only did I get to hang out with about a million revelers to ring in the New Year, but my co-hosts and I got to go behind the scenes and check out all the things that make New York City the place to be for New Year’s!

Official NYE Timer

I actually got to go up to the roof of 1 Times Square and see where this 12 foot almost 12,000 pounds ball drops to ring in the New Year!  There is a huge timer up there that made me feel like I walked onto the set of Mission Impossible and I had to fight the urge to do a tucked forward somersault into my interview with Tony Calvano.   Tony is the Man behind the Ball and the Numerals.  Not to mention some of the most memorable signs in Times Square.  (yeah you try saying Ball like a million times in one night without letting out a single giggle!)

Then after that headed to the streets where, get this you can order delivery to the spot you are standing in, while you’re waiting for midnight!!!  Only in New York City!  We met people from all over the world, Taiwan, Germany, Sweden, Ethiopia, Argentina, Venezuela, Australia, Iran, and England just to name a few!  By this point yeah… I was starting to get a little chilly in my sparkly festive attire!  But, thanks to my quick thinking, and American Apparel, I didn’t stay that way for long.  These guys, some thigh high socks, were keeping me warm all night!  Very stylish right?!?

From the great outdoors to inside our NYE Headquarters at the Hard Rock Cafe!  There were some great performances from Shayna Zaid and the Catch, Taddy Porter and Delfina.  And as if just having a live webcast wasn’t enough we had live bloggers chatting with all the viewers and keeping us co-hosts posted so we could twitter back and forth with you guys too!

Me & Heidi Kelso

After warming up just a bit, it was back outside to join the crowds and squeeze in a few more interviews!  Got to chat with Heidi Kelso, the woman behind all the star power in Times Square!  And might I just add how stylish and amazing she is!  Thanks for a great chat Heidi and I know that everyone loved all the great performances!  Oh and the man who hits the switch at midnight, Mayor Bloomberg himself, made his way over for a little chat.  He was ready to ring in the New Year, his next term as Mayor and the new decade for New York City!

Here’s a little clip of the live webcast from NYE and my interview with Mayor Bloomberg!

For more highlights of the evening check out http://www.timessquarenyc.org/nye/nye2010webcast.html

It was the coolest way I have ever rung in the New Year!  That’s for sure!  Got to work with some amazing people and made some great friends!  Can’t wait to see what 2010 brings and hope to see you all again on the Live Webcast to ring in 2011!

If you want more info check out The Times Square Alliance site

Dancing into the New Year with Bobby G, Lindsey & Kaitlin

On the Streets with Tati

Hard Rock HQ with our gorgeous Bloggers!

With my Co-Hosts at Hard Rock HQ: Lindsey Zelli, Kaitlin Monte & Harrison Greenbaum

 

Leave a Reply

